America needs you, Lenny Kravitz.

 

I remember this song.  I remember hearing it in January 1991, when the United States started bombing Iraq in Operation: Desert Storm.  MTV–they were still playing videos at the time–played this song, along with Elvis Costello’s “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding?” about once an hour or so as the airstrikes started.  I feel like playing it now, after the events of the past few hours.  I’ve already posted it on Twitter.  On the ‘Net today I’ve seen deplorable behavior, both from the Trumpies and the anti-Trumpies.  And, during the course of this way, way too long election campaign, I think I crossed the line my fair share of times.  I ask God for forgiveness in Jesus’ name.

I also must remember that Jesus told us to love our neighbors, whether you like their religion, their political opinions, or other aspects of them or not:

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Luke+10%3A25-37&version=NIV

Dear God, please help me love my neighbors, regardless or what I think of them.  I can’t do it without Your help.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

